# **Emergency Management Council Minutes**

December 12, 2024

## Attendees

Please see pages 3 and 4.

## **Call to Order**

The Emergency Management Council meeting was held via Teams on December 12, 2024. It began at 09:00 and was presided over by Chandra Fox, EMC Chair. Amanda Webster, EMD, recorded the minutes.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

A motion to approve the October 10, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Chandra Fox. The motion was seconded by JoAnn Boggs and carried.

## **Opening Comments**

Opening comments were presented by Brigadier General Paul Sellars, Washington State Military Department, Sharon Wallace, Deputy Director, EMD, and Morgan Wilson, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor.

## **Regional Issues Impacting Washington**

Willie Nunn, Regional Administrator, FEMA Region 10, provided an overview of regional issues impacting Washington.

#### Reports

Sharon Wallace provided a legislative update on behalf of Jim Baumgart, MIL Internal Affairs and Policy Director.

#### Work Session – EMC Annual Report

Chandra Fox, Chair, opened the floor to brainstorm topics for the EMC 2024 Annual Report. Three topics are required to be included: cybersecurity, hazard mitigation, and a hazardous materials report. Additional potential topics include: (URM) unreinforced brick masonry mitigation with budget support, wildland urban interface, public safety power shutoffs, and lithium batteries.

#### Work Session – EMC Strategic Planning

Chandra Fox, Chair, requested additional EMC members to volunteer to participate on the strategic planning team. Adenea Sellars and Cherrie May volunteered.

#### Work Session – 2025 Schedule of EMC Meetings

Sharon Wallace informed the council that due to the state travel funding freeze EMD meetings will remain as virtual meetings except for one in-person meeting in June. A motion to approve the 2025 meeting dates was made by Fred Brink and seconded by Quyen Thai. EMC 2025 meeting dates were approved.

## Work Session – 2025 EMC Chair Election

Chandra Fox, EMC Chair, opened the floor for nominations. Final call for nominations was made, a vote was taken, and Kirk Homes was elected 2025-27 EMC Chair.

## **Reports – Seismic Safety Subcommittee**

Amanda Hertzfeld, URM Program Manager, City of Seattle, provided a presentation about unreinforced masonry buildings and what the Seismic Safety Subcommittee has been working on to support improvement to URM in the state.

## **Open Public Forum**

Chandra Fox, EMC Chair, shared a reminder about the public hearing on the WAC 118-30 revision scheduled for January 23, 2025, at 0900.

#### **EMC Adjournment**

Chandra Fox adjourned the meeting at 10:26.

## **EMC Member Attendance**

Position	Name	Dec 12
Pos 1 Pri	Fred Brink	Р
Pos 1 Alt	Chuck Torelli	A
Pos 2 Pri	Gene Strong	Р
Pos 2 Alt	Mark Ozias	Α
Pos 3 Pri	Chief Scott Engle	Р
Pos 3 Alt	Chief Peter Fisher	Α
Pos 4 Pri	Chief John Batiste	Р
Pos 4 Alt	Arel Solie	Р
Pos 5 Pri	Robert Ezelle	А
Pos 5 Alt	Sharon Wallace	Р
Pos 6 Pri	Jim Pendowski	Р
Pos 6 Alt	Jacob Rain	Р
Pos 7 Pri	Chief Chad Cross	Р
Pos 7 Alt	Melissa Gannie	Р
Pos 8 Pri	Chief Michael Harris	Р
Pos 8 Alt	VACANT	
Pos 9 Pri	Hillary Franz	Α
Pos 9 Alt	Casey Hanell	Р
Pos 10 Pri	Chandra Fox	Р
Pos 10 Alt	Alysha Kaplan	Р
Pos 11 Pri	JoAnn Boggs	Р
Pos 11 Alt	John Unfred	Р
Pos 12 Pri	Amy Allbritton	Р
Pos 12 Alt	Lt. Trent Stephens	Р
Pos 13 Pri	Nathan Weed	Р
Pos 13 Alt	Ron Weaver	А
Pos 14 Pri	Quyen Thai	Р
Pos 14 Alt	Mizael Acevedo	А
Pos 15 Pri	Greg Welch	A
Pos 15 Alt	Dru Garson	Р
Pos 16 Pri	John Himmel	Р
Pos 16 Alt	VACANT	
Pos 17 Pri	Kirk Holmes	Р
Pos 17 Alt	Kristi Oosterveen	Р
Pos 18 Pri	Anna Marie Dufault	A
Pos 18 Alt	Amber Wynn	Р
Pos 19 Pri	Annie Pillers	Р
Pos 19 Alt	Christie Masters	Р
Pos 20 Pri	VACANT	
Pos 20 Alt	Elizabeth Sanchey	A
Pos 21 Pri	Cherrie May	Р
Pos 21 Alt	Jeff Choke	Р

## **EMC Guest Attendance**

Gabe Baez **BG** Sellars Erin Brewster Deanna Davis Eric Quitslund Nicholas Gibbons Amanda Hertzfeld Elizabeth King Kyle Bustad **Cameron Landry** Brendan McCluskey Mike Harris Zachary Myers Nancy Berntsen Nick Bacon Sarah Nuss Alexandria Swanson Morgan Wilson

## EMD

Sharon Wallace Victoria Fontana Amanda Webster Gail Cram Steven Friederich Anne-marie Marshall-Dody Stacey McClain Sierra Wardell Kathryn Zetzer